Grand Plenary Speakers


2018 Grand Plenary
Monday, June 25th from 8:00 am - 12:00 noon


Featuring the following special guest lecturers!


Dr Jean Raymond







CSNR Terbrugge Lecture – Dr Jean Raymond


Problems with the Introduction of Innovations in Neurovascular Care


Neuroradiologist at the Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM, University of Montreal Hospital Centre) and Director of the Interventional Neuroradiology Research Laboratory, Dr. Raymond is also Full Professor in the Department of Radiology, Radiation Oncology and Nuclear Medicine at the University of Montreal.

Very active in the field of interventional neuroradiology research since 1994, Dr. Raymond has published over two hundred articles in scientific journals.  He has also given numerous conferences around the world. His clinical and experimental publications have earned him international recognition among his peers and the scientific community. In 2004, he received the ‘Innovation and Excellence Prize Dr Jean A. Vezina’ from the Société Canadienne Française de Radiologie.  In 2015, he was awarded the Canadian Association of Radiologist Gold medal for his career achievements. In 2016 he received the Luessenhop Lecturer Award.


Mark S Freedman

Professor of Medicine


CNS Richardson Lecture - Dr Mark S Freedman


Does Replacing the Immune System Fix Multiple Sclerosis?


Mark Freedman is Professor of Medicine (Neurology) at the University of Ottawa, Senior Scientist at the Ottawa Hospital Research Institute and Director of the Multiple Sclerosis Research Unit at the Ottawa Hospital-General Campus.


His extensive research includes molecular neurochemistry, cellular immunology, and clinical studies in MS. His basic science interest concerns immune mechanisms of damage in MS, with a particular interest in the role of the innate immune system such as gamma-delta T-cells. His main clinical interests are cell-based therapies for MS. He was the lead investigator of the Canadian Bone Marrow Transplant Study in MS and he co-heads an international study of mesenchymal stem cells for the treatment of MS. He is the current Treasurer of ACTRIMS.

Robert S Fisher





CSCN Gloor Lecture – Dr Robert S Fisher


Devices for Epilepsy


Robert S. Fisher, MD, PhD is Maslah Saul MD Professor and Director of the Stanford Epilepsy Center and EEG lab.


He had research awards from the Klingenstein Foundation, Epilepsy Foundation, CURE, NIH and NSF. He has published about 225 peer-reviewed articles and 3 books. He was named every year from 1996 to 2017 in Best Doctors in America.  He received the Ambassador Award from the International League Against Epilepsy, the 2005 American Epilepsy Society Service Award and the 2006 Annual Clinical Research Award. Dr. Fisher is Past-President of the American Epilepsy Society, and has served on the Board of the International League Against Epilepsy and as Editor-in-Chief of the Journal, Epilepsia.


He is past Editor-in-Chief of the world’s most visited website about epilepsy, Dr. Fisher led the projects to develop a formal definition of who has epilepsy and an update of seizure type classification. His recent research is on new devices to detect and treat seizures. He led the clinical trials on deep brain stimulation for epilepsy and on the next-generation (heart-rate-sensing) vagus nerve stimulation device. Dr. Fisher has additionally won several teaching awards and cares for epilepsy patients in the Stanford Epilepsy Clinics and inpatient epilepsy unit.

Prof Thomas Opladen





CACN Tibbles Lecture – Prof Thomas Opladen

University Children Hospital - Heidelberg Germany

Divsion of Child Neurology and Metabolic Medicine


Neurotransmitter disorders - Classification, clinical presentation and treatment options


Dr Opladen is a specialist Pediatric and Adolescent Medicine with specific focus in Pediatric Neurology.


Dr Opladen received his degree in Pediatrics in 2008 and went on to specialize in Pediatric Neurology, which developed to include paediatric intensive care medicine and paediatric metabolic medicine.


He was responsible for the Coordination of the iNTD network (International Working Group on Neurotransmitter related Disorders) in 2014.


He has also acted as Consultant for Child Neurology and Inborn Errors of Metabolism and was appointed Associate Professor at the University of Heidelberg. In 2017.

Wouter I Schievink

CNSS Penfield Lecture – Dr Wouter I Schievink


Spontaneous intracranial hypotension: lessons learned from the first 1000 patients


Wouter I. Schievink, MD is professor of neurosurgery at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles, where he directs the vascular and CSF leak programs. After obtaining his medical degree at the University of Amsterdam, he completed his neurosurgery residency at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, and a vascular fellowship at the Barrow Neurological Institute in Phoenix, Arizona.